When a customer responds to a customer satisfaction survey and expresses his dissatisfaction, it is important to contact him again for 2 main reasons: to listen to him express himself and to understand the reasons for his dissatisfaction. And this task is primarily the responsibility of the operational staff closest to the customer's experience.

Branch or call centre manager: what are the differences for my client?

When you are looking to connect your internet box to the telecom network and you need technical support, it doesn't matter whether the person helping you is the person who sold you the box or whether he or she is in a call centre in France or abroad.

If it's the product that's the problem, there's no affect and the most competent will do the job.

On the other hand, if it is a service rendered (a facility, a holiday stay, a visit to a shop...), then it is important to be able to talk to the people who rendered this service, which is at the origin of the dissatisfaction.

The client may have felt devalued during this experience. There may not have been enough time spent with him to understand his need, to respond to his first signs of dissatisfaction. So obviously, if he receives a terse email for any response to a satisfaction survey, or if someone completely unrelated to the business contacts him to take stock of the situation, his dissatisfaction may worsen.

Branch manager or call centre manager: what are the differences for my operations?

When a customer expresses dissatisfaction, he or she may point out a major malfunction: a safety problem, an unprofessional attitude on the part of a staff member, a clear lack of communication between departments, etc.

In all these cases, only a site manager is able to understand, relativize, repair or sanction.

And only a site manager, who is made aware of a problem for the tenth time by different customers, will have the motivation to change things.

If problems are "handled" by a call centre, a great deal of information can be lost between the client's call and the summary made to the operational level.

Email or phone call?

According to various studies we have conducted at SatisFactory, the preferred channel to recontact a customer on alert is indeed the telephone. The email only comes as a support for a discussion or if the customer is unreachable by phone.

It takes time and can make operational staff nervous. Who's happy to call a disgruntled customer? However, it turns out that the tone is much more cordial and the arguments measured when the customer is speaking face-to-face with a site manager, for example.

Conclusion

Our conclusion on this issue of unsatisfied customer recalls is not to the advantage of operational staff. They are the ones who must carry out this task. And do it in the most direct and unfiltered way: by phone. This is the only way to make sense of the principle of listening to the customer, to be able to turn a nugget into a nugget and, if possible, to improve operations.

Lorsqu’un client répond à une enquête de satisfaction client et qu’il exprime son mécontentement, il est important de le recontacter pour 2 raisons principales : l’écouter s’exprimer et comprendre les raisons de son insatisfaction. Et cette tâche revient avant tout aux opérationnels au plus proche de l’expérience du client.

Responsable d’agence ou centre d’appel : quelles différences pour mon client ?

Lorsque vous cherchez à connecter votre box internet au réseau télécom et que vous devez vous faire aider par un support technique, il vous importe peu que la personne qui vous aide se trouve être celui qui vous a vendu la box ou qu’elle se trouve dans un centre d’appel en France ou à l’étranger.

Si c’est le produit qui pose problème, il n’y a pas d’affect et le plus compétent fera l’affaire.

En revanche, s’il s’agit d’un service rendu (une installation, un séjour de vacances, une visite dans un magasin…), il est alors important de pouvoir parler aux personnes qui ont rendu ce service, à l’origine de l’insatisfaction.

Le client s’est peut-être senti dévalorisé durant cette expérience. On n’a peut-être pas assez passé de temps avec lui pour comprendre son besoin, répondre à ses premiers signes d’insatisfaction. Alors évidemment, s’il reçoit, pour toute réponse à une enquête de satisfaction, un email laconique ou qu’une personne, complètement étrangère à l’affaire, le contacte pour faire le point, son insatisfaction risque d’empirer.

Responsable d’agence ou centre d’appel : quelles différences pour mes opérations ?

Quand un client exprime une insatisfaction, il peut relever un disfonctionnement important : un problème de sécurité, une attitude non professionnelle de la part d’un membre du personnel, un manque de communication évident entre services…

Dans tous ces cas, seul un directeur de site est en mesure de comprendre, relativiser, réparer ou sanctionner.

Et seul un directeur de site, qui est sensibilisé pour la dixième fois sur un problème par différents clients, aura la motivation nécessaire pour faire évoluer les choses.

Si les problèmes sont « traités » par un centre d’appel, un grand nombre d’information risque d’être perdu entre l’appel du client et le résumé fait à l’opérationnel.

Email ou appel téléphonique ?

D’après différentes études que nous avons menées chez SatisFactory, le canal à privilégier pour recontacter un client en alerte est bien le téléphone. L’email ne vient qu’en support d’une discussion ou si le client est injoignable par téléphone.

Cela prend du temps et peut rendre les opérationnels nerveux. Qui se réjouit d’appeler un client mécontent ? Toutefois, il s’avère que le ton est bien plus cordial et les arguments mesurés quand le client s’exprime de vive voix avec un directeur de site par exemple.

Conclusion

Notre conclusion sur cette problématique des rappels des clients insatisfaits n’est pas à l’avantage des opérationnels. C’est bien eux qui doivent effectuer cette tâche. Et la faire de la manière la plus directe et sans filtre : par téléphone. C’est la seule façon de donner un sens au principe d’écoute client, de pouvoir transformer un pépin en pépite et de pouvoir, si possible, améliorer ses opérations.